DigiByte and the enthusiasm for Coinbase

Josiah Spackman
5 min readMar 31, 2019

--

Here’s a brief insight into the history of DigiByte and our applications to be on Coinbase / GDAX.

As many people have seen in recent days, Brian Armstrong the CEO of Coinbase has been asking for a response on Twitter about what sort of information people want to see more of from him. Naturally the DigiByte community let him know:

With a *very* large number of replies to the tweets, I went through and from what I could see every single one of them was genuine:

Honestly, the comments are full of enthusiastic tweets about DigiByte. See for yourself how excited the DigiByte community is:

Unfortunately Brian appears to have been soured by the previous experiences with other blockchains that are well known for having a spam-army on Twitter, hiring bots or fake followers and the likes:

We are definitely not a bunch of fake followers, we are the DigiByte community, a group of global enthusiasts who are all supportive of the permission-less and decentralized DigiByte blockchain. We don’t have any centrally controlling head that pays for Tesla giveaways, we don’t have ICO funds that allow us to buy fake followers (We wouldn’t want that, that’s disingenuous anyway) but rather we are a pure grassroots community movement.

We are all DigiByte:

So I want to share with you a little history about DigiByte and Coinbase.

Originally in 2017 / 2018 when we first began the application process, you needed to be on GDAX in order to subsequently get listed on Coinbase. This is why the following document is called the GDAX application.

I don’t believe this document has ever really been shared previously, we didn’t want to get peoples hopes up, but seeing as it’s now been 12 months since this was sent off to Coinbase, it’s probably time that I shared it.

So, this document was created, and to be frank I know that I spent countless hours going over and over it editing and tweaking it, and I know it was reviewed and then re-reviewed by a number of other close people at the time. It was then sent off to Coinbase in late March of 2018:

You can download it here: http://www.dgbwiki.com/wikifiles/GDAX_Digital_reviewed_compressed_201803.pdf

When creating this, it was submitted to Coinbase as-is above. I included a copy of their questions as well, that match it (It’s a separate document). We also printed and bound a couple of copies of this which were hand delivered to several members of the senior management at Coinbase over the following couple of months.

Then later on September 26th 2018, Coinbase decided to “open their doors” a little and allow for general applications from any project, without the need to first be on GDAX.

Again, I filled out this form. I received news at approx 10:30AM while I was out visiting a customer for part of my day-job, but I excused myself and went and completed the form over the following 90 mins. I’m speculating, but based on the time of the tweet from Coinbase and the time I completed it, being less than 2.5 hours, I presume we were one of the first to apply.

This second application was done through a Google Form:

Although this particular listing application form had different questions from what their GDAX framework asked. Still, a great deal of care was put into the application, and given the amount of time I’ve spent previously doing both the original listing document above (As well as Binance listings etc), I could probably complete most of these in my sleep now.

Let me also be clear that at no stage has Coinbase ever asked for any listing fees, so that’s always a positive.

So where does this leave us today?

Well, Coinbase have been adding more cryptocurrencies to their available portfolio that you can purchase directly through them. This is good news for their large user-base.

DigiByte has applied, a number of times. The talented developers at Coinbase have *all* the information that they need in order to list DigiByte.

We are a permissionless, open-source, decentralized blockchain with an incredibly enthusiastic community. I applaud our community for their positive comments, and would encourage more of that.

We have maintained a solid morality thus far without having to employ fake accounts, spam-bots and more, and I want to encourage the DigiByte community that we continue to behave with our high level of integrity.

When Brian Armstrong asked the community if there is something he should be aware of, we responded in kind. We haven’t been spamming all their other tweets etc as we’ve seen other blockchains do in the past, and I think this speaks volumes of the genuine intention of the DigiByte community, and as a part of that community I want to applaud you all for that.

We don’t need to get spammy, we haven’t been spammy, and we’ve been both positive and enthusiastic every step of the way.

Basically: Keep on being awesome DigiByte community!

--

--

Josiah Spackman

I write interesting things about cryptocurrency, especially DigiByte